Malta By the Numbers

The Republic of Malta is an archipelago in the Mediterranean Sea. Together, the islands of Malta, Gozo, and Comino make up this Maltese archipelago.

Here’s a statistical snapshot of the Republic of Malta:


  • Gained independence from Great Britain in 1964
  • 122 square miles
  • Has three UNESCO sites

Malta 3

  • More than 90 percent of the population is Roman Catholic
  • Official languages are Maltese and English
  • Capital is Valletta
  • Became a member of the European Union in 2004

Malta 2

  • Adopted euro currency in 2008
  • Smallest member state in the European Union
  • More than 1.7 million tourists visited in 2015
  • Has more than 30 beaches and bays in the Maltese archipelago

Malta 1

  • As of 2013, the population was 425,384: 94.1 percent were Maltese residents and 5.9 percent were foreigners
  • As of 2014, 25,000 foreigners lived in Malta: nearly 6,600 were British and more than 1,000 were Somalis

Sources: The World Factbook,, Times of Malta, UNHCR